A daily dose of Inspiration for you!

Today’s source of Inspiration is exploration and knowledge gained through exploration.  Our universe is filled with places to explore and much to learn.  Uranus is the seventh planet from our Sun.


Uranus is the third largest planet with the fourth largest planetary mass.  Uranus and Neptune have similarities and are classified as “ice giants”.  The atmosphere of Uranus is composed primarily of hydrogen and helium.  “Ices” contained in its atmosphere are water, ammonia, methane, and other hydrocarbons.  Uranus has the coldest planetary atmosphere.  It has a complex, layered cloud structure.  Below the atmosphere, Uranus is made of ices and rock.


Uranus was the first planet discovered with a telescope.  Sir William Herschel is credited with its discovery in 1781.  It has been learned that Uranus orbits the Sun every 84 years.  It rotates in about 14 to 17 and a half hours.  The axis of rotation is parallel with the plane of the Solar System.  Thus the poles experience 42 years of sunlight or 42 years of darkness. Uranus is hotter, nonetheless, at its equator than at its poles.


Uranus has a blue or cyan color.  Uranus has 27 moons that are known.  The five main ones are Miranda, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, and Oberon.  Uranus has 13 known planetary rings.  Voyager 2 imaged rings in 1985, although not all.  The Hubble Space Telescope discovered additional rings.  Additional missions and discoveries are planned.


Uranus is inspirational and learning about it is inspirational.  Be inspired!  Have a bright day!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s