A daily dose of Inspiration for you!

Wyoming is inspirational.  Wyoming was admitted to the Union of the United States of America on July 10, 1890.  Wyoming is in the Western United States in the mountain region.  Montana borders Wyoming to the north.  South Dakota and Nebraska border the state to the east.  Colorado is to the south and Utah is to the southeast.  Idaho borders Wyoming to the west.  Cheyenne is the state’s capital.


Two-thirds of the state has mountain ranges of the Rocky Mountains.  The eastern one-third has high elevation prairie.  This area is called the High Plains.  There are several rivers in the state.  Wyoming, also, has 32 named island which are located in lakes and rivers.  Over half of the state’s land is owned and managed by the US government or the state government.  Yellowstone National Park became the nations first national park in 1872 before Wyoming became a state.  It extends into the northwest section of the state.


Wyoming has a semi-arid and continental climate.  It is drier and winder with greater temperature variation than most of the United States.  Summers are warm and winters are cold.  Rain and snow amounts vary due to elevation.  Thunderstorms and tornados are more likely in the southeast.


People are known to have lived in the area for 12,000 years.  Native Americans inhabited  the region when explorers came to the region.  It was part of the Spanish Empire and the Mexican territory.  Following the Mexican-American War in 1848 it was ceded to the United States.  Before this in 1807 the region was described by John Colter, a member of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.  The name Wyoming came about in 1865.  Wyoming Territory was established in 1868.


Wyoming’s official nickname is Equality State.  This is a result of the state’s civil-rights history.  While still a territory, women were given the right to vote in 1869.  In 1870, women began serving on juries and had the first female court bailiff.  Later, in 1924, the state of Wyoming elected and signed in the first female governor.


Wyoming’s economy revolves around tourism, agriculture, and energy extraction more than anything else.  Around six million people visit the state’s national parks and monuments yearly.  Agriculture includes the main commodities of beef livestock, hay, sugar beets, grain, and wool.  Energy extraction’s mineral commodities include coal, natural gas, coalbed methane, crude oil, uranium, and trona.


The Wyoming government has an executive, a legislative, and a judicial branch.  The state has 23 counties.  There are 99 incorporated municipalities.  There are two Metropolitan Statistical Areas and seven Micropolitan Statistical Areas.  Wyoming is the least populous state.  It, also, has the Wind River Indian Reservation.  This is shared by the Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho tribes of Native Americans who govern the land and it is considered sovereign.


Rugby and the rodeo are cultural traditions in Wyoming.  There are many natural and manmade sites to enjoy in Wyoming.  Be inspired!  Have a bright day!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s